Ranga Reddy district, abbreviated as, R R district and also known as Cyberabad district and formerly known as Hyderabad Rural.

Ranga Reddy District was formed on 15th August, 1978 by carving out some portion of Hyderabad Urban Taluk & the merger of the entire Rural and Urban Areas of the remaining Taluks of Erstwhile Hyderabad District. This District is primarily the Rural hinterland for Hyderabad City feeding the powerful commercial Centre with various raw Materials, agriculture produce and finished products.

The District is bounded on the North by Medak District, East by Nalgonda District, South by Mahaboobnagar District, West by Gulbarga District & North West of Bidar District of Karnataka State.

The district can be divided into three broad basins. A major part (65%) of the district is covered by Musi river basin (Osman sagar and Himayat sagar for drinking purpose). The next largest basin is the Kagna basin a tributary to Bhima River. There is a good potential in this basin, which can irrigate large areas. The third basin is the Manjeera, which is part of the Godavari basin where the area under irrigation is limited.